Call for applications

Twice a year, the Iron Library offers a scholar the possibility of intensive study of its holdings as Scholar in Residence (SiR). The program is addressed to both established researchers and younger scholars or advanced students from Switzerland and abroad.

Aim of the program
In keeping with the Iron Library's specialization, preference will be given to applications from scholars with research projects on the history of metallurgy and mining and the history of technology and materials science, which are the focal points of the Iron Library's collection. Topics from the history of chemistry, the history of science or industrial history and culture will also be given consideration. Innovative research projects that draw on the Library's historical holdings in depth are particularly welcome. Research on the history of the Georg Fischer Corporation is especially welcome because projects that are based wholly or in part on the Corporate Archives of Georg Fischer Ltd. will also be supported by the SiR Program.

What the Iron Library offers
The Iron Library, located in the former Clarissan convent Paradies, is an attractive place for focused research and creative writing. The research period may last from two to three weeks, and the precise dates and modalities will be arranged individually with the successful applicants. The Iron Library will assume the costs of a hotel for the SiR near the library during the research period, will pay an allowance for the cost of meals during this time and will make a one-time contribution to the costs of travel to and from the Iron Library. The employees of the Iron Library will assist the SiR in his/her research work and in obtaining the relevant literature. The SiR Program is expressly not a full scholarship; any further claims on the Iron Library are excluded.

What we expect from the Scholar in Residence
It is expected that the SiR will work intensively with the library holdings during the period of research and will take up residence near the library. The research period may come at the beginning of a research project or may serve to complete an existing project. The results of the research period must be incorporated into a publication (print or online) and/or a degree (master's, Ph.D. or "Habilitation"), in which the use of the Iron Library is mentioned expressly. When the publication has been completed, the SiR will send the Iron Library two copies with-out being requested. The SiR undertakes, in addition, to write a short report on the research period in the Iron Library and gives his/her consent for this report to be published on the Iron Library's website, in its Annual Report and, if appropriate, elsewhere (e.g. social media). The same shall apply to the abstract of the research project (see below).


Applications
Applicants are requested to submit the following documents:
- an abstract describing the research project (maximum 150 words)
- a detailed description of the project that makes it clear which holdings in the Iron Library are to be consulted (maximum 1000 words)
- a curriculum vitae (resume)

The application documents may be written in English or German and may be submitted by mail or by e-mail. The Management of the Iron Library will decide on the selection of the Scholar in Residence.

Applications deadlines
Applications may be submitted at any time.

Please address any questions and your application to:
Franziska Eggimann, Head Iron Library and Corporate Archivist Georg Fischer Ltd.
Klostergut Paradies, 8252 Schlatt, Switzerland, franziska.eggimann@georgfischer.com

Ausschreibung

Die Eisenbibliothek bietet zweimal im Jahr einer Wissenschaftlerin/einem Wissenschaftler die Möglichkeiten, sich als Scholar in Residence (SiR) intensiv mit ihren Beständen auseinanderzusetzen. Die Ausschreibung richtet sich sowohl an etablierte Forscherinnen als auch an jüngere Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen und fortgeschrittene Studierende aus dem In- und Ausland.

Zielsetzung des Programms
Der Spezialisierung der Eisenbibliothek entsprechend werden Bewerbungen mit Forschungsprojekten zur Metallurgie- und Bergbaugeschichte und zu Bereichen der Technik- und Werkstoffgeschichte bevorzugt. Denkbar sind auch Themen aus der Geschichte der Chemie, der Wissenschaftsgeschichte oder aus der Industriegeschichte und -kultur. Besonders willkommen sind innovative Forschungsvorhaben, die intensiv auf die historischen Bestände der Bibliothek zurückgreifen. Forschungen zur Geschichte des Unternehmens Georg Fischer sind ebenfalls besonders willkommen, da im Rahmen des SiR-Programms auch solche Forschungsprojekte gefördert werden, die (auch oder nur) auf den Beständen des Konzernarchivs der Georg Fischer AG basieren.

Das Angebot der Eisenbibliothek
Die Eisenbibliothek im ehemaligen Klarissenkloster Paradies bietet einen attraktiven Ort für konzentriertes Forschen und kreatives Schreiben. Der Forschungsaufenthalt kann zwei bis drei Wochen dauern, die genauen Termine und Modalitäten werden nach erfolgreicher Bewerbung individuell abgestimmt. Die Eisenbibliothek übernimmt für die/den SiR während des Forschungsaufenthalts die Kosten der Unterkunft in der Nähe der Bibliothek, zahlt in dieser Zeit einen Zuschuss zu den Verpflegungskosten und gewährt einmalig einen Zuschuss zu den Kosten der An- und Abreise. Das Team der Eisenbibliothek unterstützt die/den SiR bei den Forschungsarbeiten und der Literaturversorgung. Das SiR-Programm ist ausdrücklich nicht als Vollstipendium zu verstehen, weshalb weitere Ansprüche an die Eisenbibliothek damit nicht verbunden sind.

Was wir vom Scholar in Residence erwarten
Von der/von dem SiR wird erwartet, in der Zeit des Forschungsaufenthalts intensiv mit den Bibliotheksbeständen zu arbeiten und in der Nähe der Bibliothek Residenz zu nehmen. Der Forschungsaufenthalt kann zu Beginn eines Forschungsvorhabens stehen, er kann aber auch dazu dienen, ein bestehendes Forschungsprojekt zu Ende zu führen. Die Ergebnisse des Aufenthalts müssen in eine Publikation (print oder online) und/oder eine Qualifizierungsarbeit (Master, Dissertation, Habilitation etc.) einfliessen, in der auf die Benutzung der Eisenbibliothek ausdrücklich hingewiesen wird. Nach Abschluss der Publikation müssen der Eisenbibliothek unaufgefordert mindestens zwei Exemplare zugeschickt werden. Die/der SiR verpflichtet sich ausserdem, einen kurzen Bericht über den ForschungsForschungsaufenthalt zu verfassen und erklärt sich damit einverstanden, dass dieser Bericht auf der Website und im Jahresbericht der Eisenbibliothek sowie gegebenenfalls auch an anderer Stelle (wie z.B. Social Media) publiziert wird. Das gilt auch für das Abstract des Forschungsprojekts (siehe unten).

Bewerbungen
Bewerberinnen/Bewerber werden um folgende Unterlagen gebeten:
- eine Kurzfassung des Forschungsprojekts (Abstract, maximal 150 Wörter)
- eine ausführliche Projektbeschreibung, aus der ersichtlich ist, welche Bestände in der Eisenbibliothek konsultiert werden sollen (maximal 1000 Wörter)
- einen Lebenslauf

Die Bewerbungsunterlagen können auf Deutsch oder Englisch verfasst sein und per Post oder per E-Mail eingereicht werden. Über die Auswahl der/des SiR entscheidet die Geschäftsleitung der Stiftung Eisenbibliothek.

Bewerbungsfristen
Bewerbungen sind laufend möglich.

Fragen und Bewerbungen richten Sie bitte an:
Franziska Eggimann, Leiterin Eisenbibliothek und Konzernarchivarin Georg Fischer AG
Klostergut Paradies, 8252 Schlatt, Schweiz, franziska.eggimann@georgfischer.com