The Iron Library Foundation brings together 750 years of literature on technology and science in its holdings. With around 47,000 individual titles, it is one of the world's largest private specialist libraries for the history of technology and the history of materials and natural sciences.

The Iron Library looks after the archives of its benefactor, Georg Fischer Ltd. The GF Corporate Archives are listed as an archive of national importance in the Swiss inventory of cultural assets. Together, the archive and the library maintain the historical and cultural heritage of the GF Corporation, whose roots go back to the 18th century. They are part of the cultural, economic and social history of Switzerland.

With bibliophilic treasures, this rich heritage is impressively conveyed to a broad public. Over 1000 international guests take part in the popular guided tours and public events every year. The Iron Library also promotes historical research and science with various initiatives.

Since its foundation in 1948, the Iron Library has been located in the idyllic Klostergut Paradies, the GF Corporation's training center near Schaffhausen.

Our history

In 1918 Georg Fischer Ltd. bought the Klostergut Paradies near Schaffhausen.

Media & press

Read reports and articles about the Iron Library from newspapers and journals.

News

Get the latest news from the Iron Library and the Corporate Archives of Georg Fischer Ltd.

Network

The Iron Library and the Corporate Archives maintain a regional and international network.

Contact

Eisenbibliothek, Stiftung der Georg Fischer AG

Klostergutstrasse 4

8252 Schlatt

Switzerland

Die Stiftung Eisenbibliothek versammelt in ihren Beständen 750 Jahre Literatur aus Technik und Wissenschaft. Sie ist mit rund 47'000 Einzeltiteln eine der weltweit grössten privaten Spezialbibliotheken für Technikgeschichte sowie Geschichte der Material- und Naturwissenschaften.

Die Eisenbibliothek betreut das Archiv ihrer Stifterin, der Georg Fischer AG. Das GF Konzernarchiv steht als Archiv von nationaler Bedeutung im schweizerischen Kulturgüterschutzinventar. Archiv und Bibliothek pflegen gemeinsam das historische und kulturelle Erbe des GF Konzerns, dessen Wurzeln ins 18. Jahrhundert zurückreichen. Sie sind Teil der kulturellen, wirtschafts- und sozialgeschichtlichen Überlieferung der Schweiz.

Mit bibliophilen Kostbarkeiten wird dieses reiche Erbe auf eindrückliche Weise einem breiten Publikum vermittelt. Über 1000 internationale Gäste nehmen jährlich an den beliebten Führungen und öffentlichen Veranstaltungen teil. Die Eisenbibliothek fördert daneben die historische Forschung und Wissenschaft mit verschiedenen Initiativen.

Die Eisenbibliothek befindet sich seit ihrer Gründung im Jahre 1948 im idyllischen Klostergut Paradies, dem Ausbildungszentrum des GF Konzerns nahe Schaffhausen.

Geschichte

Im Jahr 1918 erwarb die Georg Fischer AG das Klostergut Paradies nahe Schaffhausen.  

Medien & Presse

Lesen Sie die Berichte über die Eisenbibliothek in Zeitungen und Fachzeitschriften.

News

Erfahren Sie alle Neuigkeiten aus der Eisenbibliothek und dem Konzernarchiv der Georg Fischer AG.

Netzwerk

Die Eisenbibliothek und das Konzernarchiv pflegen ein regionales und internationales Netzwerk.

Öffnungszeiten & Anreise

Die Eisenbibliothek befindet sich 5 km rheinaufwärts von Schaffhausen im idyllischen Klostergut Paradies.

Kontakt