The Inventions, Researches and Writings of Nikola Tesla

Thomas Commerford Martin & Nikola Tesla: 'The Inventions, Researches and Writings of Nikola Tesla' (New York: The Electrical Engineer, 1894)

acquired in 2021

This book is an illuminating new addition to the library's collection of works on the history of electrical engineering.

The subject and joint author, Nikola Tesla (1856 – 1943), was born in the village of Smiljan in the Austro-Hungarian Empire in 1856. After studies in Graz, he travelled, worked in Paris for the Continental Edison Company, then emigrated to the United States in 1884. It was there within a decade of untiring invention, that Tesla came to enjoy a considerable amount of fame for his electrical devices. After his death in 1943, however, he slipped from public recognition. It is only with the increasing spread of electronic devices into our daily lives – not to mention the rise of a prominent brand of electrical vehicles bearing his name, though with no direct connection to the inventor himself – that Tesla has once again become a household name for his role in the history of science. 

Tesla's career coincided with the end of the epoch of the great scientist-showman in the United States. This book exists as a much out of his want to self-publicize as to make a valuable contribution to the progress of electrical engineering. As it stands, he managed to do both. Within its 43 chapters it provides an overview of the astonishing breadth of his early work. These include selected transcripts of Tesla's lectures through to the details of his designs for different electrical devices and the principles behind their function.

In the late-19th century, patent law was still developing and Tesla's contemporaries, such as one-time mentor Thomas Edison (1847 – 1931), were continually lodged in battles over rights to inventions such as the light bulb or microphone. This book therefore represents a very necessary staking of territory, in which he was assisted by Thomas Commerford Martin (1856 – 1924), a fellow electrical engineer and skilled editor.

The year of its compilation, 1893, was an important one for Tesla. Together with the industrialist George Westinghouse (1846 – 1914), he had undercut a bid by Edison to provide electrical lighting for the Chicago World's Fair. This was a key moment of the so-called 'War of the Currents'. Edison was pushing for an electrical grid powered by direct current (DC) and Westinghouse for alternating current (AC). Tesla's inventions made AC the more viable and set a precedent that became and remains the standard for the American electrical grid. It was a feat of engineering that stunned visitors to the green exhibition halls, among them L. Frank Baum (1856 – 1919), who drew on this experience to create the Emerald City in his 1900 novel The Wizard of Oz.

Whether or not Tesla was inspiration for the wizard himself is up for debate, yet as the volume's copious and detailed illustrations attest, he could easily have been mistaken for one when surrounded by leaping electrical arcs and glowing wireless orbs.

This, Tesla's first book of engineering, inspired many subsequent inventors, such as Edwin Armstrong, the inventor of FM radio. He described reading this book as both "profound and decisive". It can be hoped that this exemplar will also have such an influence as it takes its place alongside works by Boyle, Franklin, Priestley and Salvator dal Negro in the Iron Library's well-established collection on the history of electrical engineering.

The Inventions, Researches and Writings of Nikola Tesla

Thomas Commerford Martin & Nikola Tesla: «The Inventions, Researches and Writings of Nikola Tesla» (New York: The Electrical Engineer, 1894)

Erworben im Jahr 2021

Dieses Buch ist eine erhellende Ergänzung des Bibliotheksbestandes zur Geschichte der Elektrotechnik.

Nikola Tesla (1856–1943), gleichzeitig Mitautor und Gegenstand des Buchs, wurde 1856 in Smiljan in Österreich-Ungarn geboren. Nach seinem Studium in Graz ging er auf Reisen, arbeitete in Paris für die Continental Edison Company und wanderte 1884 in die Vereinigten Staaten aus. Dort erlangte Tesla innerhalb eines Jahrzehnts unermüdlicher Erfindungsarbeit eine bemerkenswerte Berühmtheit für seine elektrischen Geräte. Nach seinem Tod im Jahr 1943 verschwand er jedoch aus der öffentlichen Erinnerung. Erst mit der zunehmenden Verbreitung elektronischer Geräte in unserem täglichen Leben – und nicht zuletzt mit dem Aufkommen einer bekannten Marke von Elektrofahrzeugen, die allerdings neben dem Namen nichts mit ihm gemein hat – ist Tesla wieder zu einer geläufigen Figur geworden.

Teslas Karriere fiel mit dem Ende der Epoche der grossen «wissenschaftlichen Schausteller» in den Vereinigten Staaten zusammen. Dieses Buch entstand sowohl aus dem Wunsch heraus, sich selbst zu publizieren, als auch einen wertvollen Beitrag zum Fortschritt der Elektrotechnik zu leisten. Im Ergebnis ist ihm beides gelungen. In seinen 43 Kapiteln bietet das Buch einen Überblick über das erstaunliche Ausmass seiner frühen Arbeit. Dazu gehören ausgewählte Abschriften von Teslas Vorlesungen bis hin zu den Einzelheiten seiner Entwürfe für verschiedene elektrische Geräte und die Prinzipien, die hinter deren Funktion stehen.

Im späten 19. Jahrhundert befand sich das Patentrecht noch in der Entwicklung, und Teslas Zeitgenossen, wie z. B. sein einstiger Mentor Thomas Edison (1847–1931), waren ständig in Streitigkeiten um Rechte an Erfindungen wie der Glühbirne oder dem Mikrofon verwickelt. Dieses Buch stellt daher eine sehr notwendige Absteckung seines Territoriums dar, bei der er vom Elektroingenieur und erfahrenen Herausgeber Thomas Commerford Martin (1856–1924), unterstützt wurde.

Das Jahr der Vorbereitung des Buches, 1893, war ein wichtiges Jahr für Tesla. Zusammen mit dem Industriellen George Westinghouse (1846–1914) hatte er ein Angebot von Edison für die elektrische Beleuchtung der Weltausstellung in Chicago unterboten. Dies war ein Schlüsselmoment im so genannten «Krieg der Ströme». Edison drängte auf ein Stromnetz, das mit Gleichstrom (DC) betrieben wurde, und Westinghouse auf Wechselstrom (AC). Teslas Erfindungen machten den Wechselstrom praktikabler und schufen einen Präzedenzfall, der zum Standard für das amerikanische Stromnetz wurde und bis heute gilt. Es war eine technische Meisterleistung, die die Besucher der grünen Messehallen in Erstaunen versetzte. Unter den Besuchern war L. Frank Baum (1856–1919), der sich von dieser Erfahrung zu der Smaragdstadt in seinem 1900 erschienenen Roman «Der Zauberer von Oz» inspirieren liess.

Ob Tesla die Inspiration für den Zauberer selbst war, ist fraglich, doch wie die reichhaltigen und detaillierten Illustrationen des Bandes zeigen, hätte man ihn leicht für einen solchen halten können, wenn er von springenden Lichtbögen und leuchtenden Kugeln umgeben war.

Dieses Buch, Teslas erstes Buch über Technik, inspirierte viele spätere Erfinder, wie z. B. Edwin Armstrong, den Erfinder des UKW-Radios. Er beschrieb die Lektüre dieses Buches als «tiefgreifend und entscheidend». Es ist zu hoffen, dass auch dieses Exemplar einen solchen Einfluss haben wird, wenn es seinen Platz neben Werken von Boyle, Franklin, Priestley und Dal Negro in der gut etablierten Sammlung der Eisenbibliothek zur Geschichte der Elektrotechnik einnimmt.