Chapter 2: "Disegni e spiegazone..."

Giuseppe Valadier: Disegni, e spiegazione della fonderia: principio e termine della campana di San Petro [...] (Rom 1786).

published September 2014

The favorite book of Franziska Eggimann

In chapter 2 of our series "My favorite book in the Iron Library", Franziska Eggimann presents one of the 60 or so manuscripts from the library's holdings. The Head of the Iron Library has even corresponded with the Vatican Archives about her favorite book.

 
The reader

Franziska Eggimann

...took over as Head of the Iron Library and the Georg Fischer Corporate Archive in September 2013 and moved her workplace from the archive of Einsiedeln Abbey to Klostergut Paradies, a former convent that now belongs to Georg Fischer. As an historian with her roots in Zurich, she had previously studied the history of "confessionalization" in some depth, so she was immediately excited about the manuscript describing the Papal bell in the Iron Library.

I would love to play a role in this book:
Johann Conrad Fischer: Reisetagebücher. Aarau, Schaffhausen, Stuttgart 1816, 1826, 1829, 1845, 1846, 1847, 1853

I would love to read a sequel to this book:
Stefan Zweig: Die Welt von gestern. Erinnerungen eines Europäers. Stockholm, Bermann-Fischer 1942

The book on my nightstand right now:
Robert Seethaler: Ein ganzes Leben. Berlin, Hanser 2014

The book

Giuseppe Valadier: Disegni, e spiegazione della fonderia: principio e termine della campana di San Petro, fusa dal Cav. Luigi Valadier e Giuseppe di lui figlio nell’anno 1786. (Rom 1786).

In 2007, the Iron Library established a "treasury", a special room where its most valuable books, hitherto locked away in a safe, could be viewed and properly admired behind glass. One such treasure is a manuscript written by Giuseppe Valadier (1762-1839). It is a thin folio volume that needs to be seen up close to appreciate its true value. Since the book is displayed open, the leather binding with the coat of arms of Pope Pius VI (1775-1799) in gold tooling is not visible.

Pope Pius VI ordered a bell for St. Peter's in Rome from the Roman goldsmith Luigi Valadier, which caused quite a commotion among Rome's envious bell founders. Why should a goldsmith, they wondered, be so honored by the Pope? Luigi Valadier died before he could complete the commission, but it was finished by the master's son, Giuseppe, who dedicated this manuscript to his father. Featuring 14 pen and ink drawings with watercolor, it describes in detail the casting of the bell.

Giuseppe Valadier was a famous architect and a leading exponent of the classicist style in Rome. As a town planner, he designed numerous buildings and squares – including the Piazza del Popolo – and fought tenaciously to preserve ancient monuments such as the Colosseum.

The bell, which is known as "il campanone" (Italian for "the huge bell"), is still in use today at St. Peter's Basilica. It is the second largest bell in Italy, weighing in at 10 tons.

The Vatican recently became aware of Valadier's manuscript – The Iron Library's hand-written document is, of course, unique – and requested a copy for its documentation in the Vatican Archives, a request with which we were pleased to comply.

Watch Valadier's "Campanone" in action in St. Peter's Basilica

Folge 2: Disegni e spiegazione ...

Giuseppe Valadier: Disegni, e spiegazione della fonderia: principio e termine della campana di San Petro [...] (Rom 1786).

Erschienen im September 2014

Das Lieblingsbuch von Franziska Eggimann

In Folge 2 unserer Serie stellt Franziska Eggimann eine der rund 60 Handschriften aus den Beständen der Eisenbibliothek vor. Über ihr Lieblingsbuch hat sich die Leiterin der Eisenbibliothek auch schon mit den Vatikanischen Archiven ausgetauscht.

 
Die Leserin

Franziska Eggimann

… hat im September 2013 die Leitung der Eisenbibliothek sowie des Konzernarchivs der Georg Fischer AG übernommen und ihren Arbeitsplatz vom Archiv des Klosters Einsiedeln ins Klostergut Paradies verlegt. Die Zürcher Historikerin hat sich zuvor ausgiebig mit Konfessionalisierungsgeschichte befasst, weshalb ihr die Handschrift über die päpstliche Glocke in der Eisenbibliothek sofort ans Herz gewachsen ist.

Das Buch, in dem ich gerne mitspielen würde ...
Johann Conrad Fischer: Reisetagebücher. Aarau, Schaffhausen, Stuttgart 1816, 1826, 1829, 1845, 1846, 1847, 1853

Das Buch, von dem ich gerne eine Fortsetzung lesen würde ...
Stefan Zweig: Die Welt von gestern. Erinnerungen eines Europäers. Stockholm, Bermann-Fischer 1942

Das Buch, das momentan auf meinem Nachttisch liegt ...
Robert Seethaler: Ein ganzes Leben. Berlin, Hanser 2014

Das Buch

Giuseppe Valadier: Disegni, e spiegazione della fonderia: principio e termine della campana di San Petro, fusa dal Cav. Luigi Valadier e Giuseppe di lui figlio nell’anno 1786. (Rom 1786).

2007 wurde in der Eisenbibliothek eine «Schatzkammer» eingerichtet. Die kostbarsten Bücher aus unseren Beständen, die bis dahin im Safe gelagert wurden, können hier hinter Glas betrachtet und bestaunt werden. Darunter befindet sich eine Handschrift von Giuseppe Valadier (1762–1839): Ein dünnes Buch im Folioformat, von Weitem unverdientermassen unscheinbar. Da es aufgeschlagen daliegt, bleibt der Ledereinband mit dem Wappen von Papst Pius VI. (1775–1799) in Goldprägung verborgen.

Papst Pius VI. bestellte beim römischen Goldschmied Luigi Valadier eine Glocke für den Petersdom in Rom, was bei den Glockengiessern in Rom für Aufregung und auch etwas Neid sorgte: Ausgerechnet einem Goldschmied wird die päpstliche Ehre zuteil! Nach dem Tode des Meisters vollendete dessen Sohn Giuseppe Valadier den Auftrag und widmete seinem Vater diese Handschrift, worin er den Guss der Glocke detailliert beschreibt und in 14 aquarellierten Federzeichnungen illustriert.

Giuseppe Valadier war ein berühmter Architekt und führender Vertreter des Klassizismus in Rom. Als Städteplaner gestaltete er zahlreiche Plätze und Gebäude – darunter die Piazza del Popolo – und setzte sich intensiv für die Erhaltung antiker Monumente wie z.B. des Kolosseums ein.

Die Glocke – bekannt als «il Campanone» (italienisch für «riesige/enorme Glocke») – ist noch heute täglich im Petersdom im Einsatz. Sie ist die zweitgrösste Glocke Italiens und wiegt 10 Tonnen.

Kürzlich wurde der Vatikan auf Valadiers Manuskript aufmerksam – als Handschrift natürlich ein Unikat, das nur die Eisenbibliothek besitzt – und bat uns um eine Kopie für die Dokumentation in den Vatikanischen Archiven, die wir gerne zur Verfügung stellten.

Der Campanone von Valadier im Einsatz im Petersdom