Elementa Hydrotechniae

Hadaly de Hada, Carl: Elementa Hydrotechniae (Győr: Joseph Streibig, 1783)

acquired 2020

Elementa Hydrotechniae Title Page
Elementa Hydrotechniae: Title Page

New to the rare books collection is this 128-side treatise on the mathematics of natural river dynamics. Published in 1783, Elementa Hydrotechniae contributed to an influential and growing body of literature in the late-19th century that came to encourage river landscape engineering projects, such as the correction of the course of the Rhine under the direction of Johann Gottfried Tulla, which began in 1817.

The historical importance of works such as this treatise cannot be over stated. Then as now, rivers provided key transport ways for commerce and industry and a source of power for mills, whilst their unpredictable flooding posed significant challenges, threatening both settlements and vital agricultural lands. Establishing and disseminating a mathematical understanding of the nature, strength and potential of rivers was an important step in providing a foundation for engineering projects designed to either reduce flood risks or take the power of rivers and direct it in such a way as to be of greater economic benefit.

The treatise makes a valuable addition therefore to the existing holdings of the Iron Library, which has very well established collections on the history of waterways and water transport technology. These begin with Aristotle's speculations on the annual Nile inundation in our 13th century Albertus Magnus manuscript, and range through the centuries to works from the history of pumping stations near Versailles, Casper Walter's 1765 Architectura Hydraulica, and many more on topics as diverse as hydroelectric power and the evolution of piping systems.

The treatise is split into theoretical and practical parts, together totalling 241 numbered paragraphs, with 17 sides of tables and two folded engraved plates featuring 26 figures. The six chapters of the first and theoretical part cover the basic premises of the treatise (I), the natural river (II), the different states of the river (III), the rate of river flow (IV), the force of water (V), and the pathways of rivers (IV).  The seven chapters of the practical part of the treatise cover the dimensions of rivers (I), wickerwork structures (III), the protection of riverbanks (IV), technical rigs (V), the draining of marshland (VI), and the navigability of rivers (VII).

Elementa Hydrotechniae: Plate 1
Elementa Hydrotechniae: Plate 1
Elementa Hydrotechniae: Plate 2
Elementa Hydrotechniae: Plate 2

The author, Carl Hadaly de Hada, was a Hungarian mathematician born Sümegher Comitate, Hungary, in 1743. He studied pure and applied mathematics, as well as civic architecture and hydraulic engineering at the Royal Academy at Győr (Hungary). This, the first edition of his teatise, was published by Joseph Streibig in Győr in 1783, whilst Hadaly de Hada was Professor of Mathematics at Trnava (Slovakia). Elementa Hydrotechniae was in demand and went through seven editions, establishing the name of the author. After its publication, Hadaly de Hada returned to teach at Győr for a short period in 1786, before moving on to Pécs where he remained until 1809, when he took up a chair at the University of Pest. His career was spent publishing extensively on color science, mechanics, pure mathematics and geometry, up until his retirement at the age of 88 in 1831. Hadaly de Hada was honoured in his career with membership of the Academy of Science in Göttingen and a Knight's Cross of the Order of Leopold.

Elementa Hydrotechniae

Hadaly de Hada, Carl: Elementa Hydrotechniae (Győr: Joseph Streibig, 1783)

Erworben im Jahr 2020

Elementa Hydrotechniae Title Page
Elementa Hydrotechniae: Titelseite

Ein Neuzugang unserer Rara-Sammlung ist diese 128-seitige Abhandlung über die Mathematik der natürlichen Flussdynamik. Die 1783 veröffentlichte Elementa Hydrotechniae trug zu einem einflussreichen und wachsenden Bestand an Literatur im späten 19. Jahrhundert bei, die zu flusslandschaftsbaulichen Projekten wie die 1817 begonnene Rheinbegradigung unter der Leitung von Johann Gottfried Tulla anregte.

Damals ebenso wie heute waren Flüsse wichtige Transportwege für Handel und Industrie und eine Energiequelle für Mühlen, während ihre unvorhersehbaren Überschwemmungen erhebliche Herausforderungen darstellten und sowohl Siedlungen als auch lebenswichtige landwirtschaftliche Flächen bedrohten. Die Schaffung und Verbreitung eines mathematischen Verständnisses der Natur, der Stärke und des Potenzials von Flüssen war ein wichtiger Schritt, um eine Grundlage für technische Projekte zu schaffen, die entweder die Hochwasserrisiken verringerten oder die Kraft von Flüssen so lenkten, dass sie von grösserem wirtschaftlichen Nutzen sein konnten.

Die Abhandlung stellt somit eine wertvolle Ergänzung der bestehenden Bestände zur Geschichte der Wasserstrassen und der Wassertransporttechnik in der Eisenbibliothek dar. Diese beginnen mit Aristoteles' Spekulationen über die jährliche Nilüberschwemmung in unserer Albertus-Magnus-Handschrift aus dem 13. Jahrhundert, reichen über die Geschichte der Pumpstationen in der Nähe von Versailles bis hin zu Casper Walters Architectura Hydraulica von 1765 und behandeln so unterschiedliche Themen wie die Nutzung von Wasserkraft und die Entwicklung von Rohrleitungssystemen.

Die Abhandlung ist in einen theoretischen und einen praktischen Teil mit insgesamt 241 nummerierten Absätzen unterteilt, mit 17 Seiten von Tabellen und zwei gefalteten gravierten Tafeln mit 26 Abbildungen. Die sechs Kapitel des ersten Teils behandeln die grundlegenden Prämissen der Abhandlung (I), den natürlichen Fluss (II), die verschiedenen Zustände des Flusses (III), die Flussrate (IV), die Kraft des Wassers (V) und die Flussläufe (IV).  Die sieben Kapitel des praktischen Teils der Abhandlung behandeln die Dimensionen von Flüssen (I), Flechtwerkstrukturen (III), den Schutz von Flussufern (IV), technische Anlagen (V), die Entwässerung von Marschland (VI) und die Schiffbarkeit von Flüssen (VII).

Elementa Hydrotechniae, Tafel I
Elementa Hydrotechniae, Tafel I
Elementa Hydrotechniae, Tafel II
Elementa Hydrotechniae, Tafel II

Der Autor, Carl Hadaly de Hada, war ein ungarischer Mathematiker, der 1743 in Sümegher Komitat, Ungarn, geboren wurde. Er studierte reine und angewandte Mathematik, sowie zivile Architektur und Hydraulikingenieurwesen an der Königlichen Akademie in Győr (Ungarn). Diese erste Ausgabe seiner Teatise wurde 1783 von Joseph Streibig in Györ veröffentlicht, während Hadaly de Hada Professor für Mathematik in Trnava (Slowakei) war. Elementa Hydrotechniae war sehr gefragt und durchlief sieben Auflagen, wobei der Ruf des Autors festgelegt wurde. Nach der Veröffentlichung kehrte Hadaly de Hada 1786 für eine kurze Zeit auf Győr zurück, bevor er nach Pécs ging, wo er blieb, bis er 1809 einen Lehrstuhl an der Universität von Pest übernahm. Seine Karriere verbrachte er bis zu seiner Pensionierung im Alter von 88 Jahren im Jahr 1831 mit Veröffentlichungen über Farbwissenschaften, Mechanik, reine Mathematik und Geometrie. Hadaly de Hada wurde in seiner Karriere mit der Mitgliedschaft in der Akademie der Wissenschaften in Göttingen und dem Ritterkreuz des Leopoldordens geehrt.