The Iron Library

In keeping with the library's name - and its motto "Viris ferrum donantibus" - literature on the history of iron and steel was the original focus of the collection. Over the course of time, the focus has expanded to include selected sub-areas of the history of technology together with related disciplines (history of the natural sciences and engineering, industrial and economic history, etc.). In line with developments within the GF Corporation, greater attention will be paid in future to plastics and their history.

There are only a few special libraries worldwide in the field of the Iron Library's specialties whose holdings reach a comparable depth, breadth and completeness. In principle, all areas of focus are subject to the acquisition of both historic and new (historical) research literature. In some collection areas, non-historical literature is also acquired, such as on foundry technology, iron metallurgy and plastics technology.

Library holdings

With 45,000 titles and 1,000 periodicals (70 of which are current) from eight centuries, the Iron Library is one of the largest specialist libraries in the history of technology and the history of iron and steel. The rara collection of old prints from before 1900 comprises around 6,000 titles.

Thematic priorities

  • Metallurgy
  • Mining
  • Plastics (see below)
  • History of Technology
  • History of Science
  • History of GF
  • Economic and Industrial History
  • Industrial Heritage
  • Product Catalogues and Company Writings
  • Encyclopedias
Plastics

Since 2015, the most recent focus in the acquisition profile of the Iron Library has been plastics - or as the revised Articles of Association of the Foundation state: "modern construction materials such as plastics and other polymeric solids and their applications, especially in areas of business in which GF is active". In the more than 200-year history of the GF Corporation, plastic products have been shaping the development of the Corporation for over 60 years. The publication "50 Years of Plastics Know-How", published in 2007, is an impressive testimony to this.

The traditional brand core of the Iron Library, iron/steel/history of technology, will now be complemented in a meaningful way by the new focus on plastics. The profile as a special library for construction materials in a historical perspective is being expanded and at the same time sharpened by the new focus.

Profile of holdings
The first steps in building up the holdings in the field of plastics were the acquisition of basic literature on the history of plastics, whose authors are in many cases historically interested chemists, as well as works from the early history of plastics. Analogous to the areas of iron/steel/history of technology, acquisitions in the area of plastics are also carried out in two ways: old and rare prints as well as current research literature are acquired.

Acquisition of collections
Expansion to the holdings through donations is being pursued continuously. In 2015, two book collections with historical plastics literature were taken over: one by the chemist Günter Lattermann (Bayreuth, DE), chairman of the German Society for the History of Plastics (dgkg), and the other by the chemist John Morgan (Berry Hill, GB). The largest donation to date was made in two stages in 2016 and 2020: Professor Dietrich Braun (Darmstadt) bequeathed his private library in the field of plastics technology to the Iron Library. Professor Braun, for many years director of the German Plastics Institute (DKI) in Darmstadt, was one of the most influential figures in plastics research in the second half of the 20th century. The former DKI now forms the Plastics Department of the Fraunhofer Institute for Structural Durability and System Reliability.

Die Eisenbibliothek

Dem Namen der Bibliothek – und ihrem Motto «Viris ferrum donantibus» – entsprechend ist die Literatur über die Geschichte von Eisen und Stahl der ursprüngliche Sammelschwerpunkt. Im Laufe der Zeit hat sich der Fokus auf ausgewählte Teilgebiete der Technikgeschichte samt benachbarten Disziplinen (Geschichte der Naturwissenschaften und der Ingenieurwissenschaften, Industrie- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte etc.) erweitert. In Anlehnung an Entwicklungen im GF-Konzern wird in Zukunft vor allem den Kunststoffen und ihrer Geschichte grössere Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt.

Es gibt weltweit nur wenige Spezialbibliotheken in diesen Disziplinen, deren Bestände eine vergleichbare Tiefe, Breite und Vollständigkeit erreichen. Grundsätzlich gilt für alle Kompetenzbereiche, dass sowohl historische als auch neue (geschichtswissenschaftliche) Forschungsliteratur erworben wird. In einigen Sammelgebieten wird auch nicht historisch orientierte Literatur erworben, so z.B. zur Giessereitechnik, Eisenmetallurgie und Kunststofftechnologie.

Bibliotheksbestand

Mit 45'000 Titeln und 1’000 Periodica (davon 70 laufend) aus acht Jahrhunderten gilt die Eisenbibliothek als eine der grössten Spezialbibliotheken im Bereich Technikgeschichte und Geschichte von Eisen und Stahl. Der rara-Bestand mit Alten Drucken vor 1900 umfasst rund 6'000 Titel.

Thematische Schwerpunkte

  • Metallurgie
  • Bergbau
  • Kunststoffe (siehe weiter unten)
  • Technikgeschichte
  • Geschichte der Naturwissenschaften
  • Geschichte von GF
  • Wirtschafts- und Industriegeschichte
  • Industriekultur
  • Produktkataloge und Firmenschriften
  • Enzyklopädien
Kunststoffe

Der jüngste Schwerpunkt im Erwerbungsprofil der Eisenbibliothek sind seit 2015 die Kunststoffe – oder wie es in den revidierten Stiftungsstatuten heisst: «moderne Konstruktionswerkstoffe wie Kunststoff und weitere polymere Festkörper und deren Anwendung, namentlich in Geschäftsbereichen, in denen GF aktiv ist.» In der über 200jährigen Geschichte des GF-Konzerns prägen seit über 60 Jahren Kunststoffprodukte die Entwicklung des Unternehmens mit. Die 2007 publizierte Schrift «50 Jahre Kunststoff-Know-how» legt dafür ein eindrucksvolles Zeugnis ab.

Der traditionelle Markenkern der Eisenbibliothek, Eisen/Stahl/Technikgeschichte, wird durch den neuen Schwerpunkt Kunststoffe in sinnvoller Weise ergänzt. Das Profil als Spezialbibliothek für Konstruktionswerkstoffe in historischer Perspektive wird durch den neuen Schwerpunkt erweitert und zugleich geschärft.

Bestandsaufbau
Erste Schritte zum Bestandsaufbau im Bereich Kunststoff bildeten die Anschaffung von grundlegender Literatur zur Geschichte der Kunststoffe, deren Verfasser in vielen Fällen historisch interessierte Chemiker sind, sowie von Werken aus der Frühgeschichte der Kunststoffe. Analog zu den Bereichen Eisen/Stahl und Technikgeschichte erfolgt auch die Akquisition im Kunststoffbereich zweigleisig: Erworben werden sowohl alte und seltene Drucke als auch die aktuelle Forschungsliteratur.

Übernahme von Sammlungen
Ein Ausbau des Bestandes durch Schenkungen wird laufend verfolgt. 2015 konnten zwei Büchersammlungen mit historischer Kunststoff-Literatur übernommen werden: einerseits vom Chemiker Günter Lattermann (Bayreuth, DE), dem Vorsitzenden der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Kunststoffgeschichte (dgkg), und andererseits vom Chemiker John Morgan (Berry Hill, GB). Die bislang grösste Schenkung erfolgte in zwei Etappen 2016 und 2020: Professor Dietrich Braun (Darmstadt) vermachte der Eisenbibliothek seine private Bibliothek im Bereich Kunststofftechnologie. Prof. Braun, langjähriger Direktor des Deutschen Kunststoff-Instituts (DKI) in Darmstadt, war eine der prägenden Gestalten der Kunststoff-Forschung in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts. Das ehemalige DKI bildet heute den Bereich Kunststoffe des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Betriebsfestigkeit und Systemzuverlässigkeit.