Chapter 19: The Experimentation with Nothing

Otto von Guericke: Experimenta Nova (ut vocantur) Magdeburgica De Vacuo Spatio (Amsterdam 1672).

published December 2020

The favourite book of Roland Gröbli

Continuing our popular series, Roland Gröbli, Corporate Secretary of Georg Fischer Ltd and Chairman of the Governing Board of the Iron Library Foundation, presents his favorite discovery to date in the library: the great work of the longtime mayor of Magdeburg and experimental researcher, Otto von Guericke. He is particularly enthused by an experiment presented by Otto von Guericke in 1654 before the Reichstag in Regensburg. Two teams of eight horses each could not separate two hemispheres, held  together only by a vacuum.

The reader

Roland Gröbli

...has been Corporate Secretary of Georg Fischer Ltzd since August 2000 and Chairman of the Governing Board of the Iron Library Foundation since 2013. He studied German and General History at the University of Zurich and the Free University of Berlin and completed his studies with a doctorate on the mysticism of the Swiss national saint Niklaus von Flüe. Before joining GF, he worked for seven years in Colombia, including four years as Managing Director of the Swiss-Colombian Chamber of Commerce.

The book in which I would like to play a part ...

Gabriel García Márquez, Cien años de soledad

This book is a work of the century in every respect. The Colombian journalist and writer Gabriel García Márquez (1927-2014) leads us into the world of real magic.

 

The book I would like to read a continuation of ...

Doris Kearns Goodwin, Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln

If possible, I buy a book on history in every country where I happen to be. This biography of the American historian Doris Kearns Goodwin (born 1943) about the reign of Abraham Lincoln also takes into account the perspective of his rivals for the office of President of the United States at the time. An incredibly good, illuminating and exciting book.

 

The books that are currently lying on my bedside table ...

Hans Blumberg, Die Lesbarkeit der Welt

Anneke B. Mulder-Bakker, Living Saints of the Thirteenth Century

The book

Otto von Guericke: Experimenta Nova (ut vocantur) Magdeburgica De Vacuo Spatio (Amsterdam 1672).

My understanding of technology and engineering is definitely within manageable limits. In this series, I would therefore like to highlight a book that inspires both natural scientists and humanities scholars. The mayor of Magdeburg, Otto von Guericke (1602-1686), dedicated a large part of his life and his free time to the exploration of nothingness (what is there in mysticism that is bigger or deeper than nothingness?), but precisely out of natural scientific interest.

He found out about nothingness, that is to say vacuum, in many different ways, with a great deal of ingenuity and with the help of countless experiments. He is one of the first German researchers of modern times.

I particularly admire Guericke for an experiment he demonstrated at the Reichstag that was held in Regensburg in 1654. He used a vacuum pump to extract all the air from the inside of a metal ball, which was made up of two halves. Eight horses then pulled at the end of each of the hemispheres and could not separate them. As soon as he filled the sphere with air again, the two hemispheres could be separated without any problems. This public and also pedagogically very skillful experiment became his most famous triumph, which carried his name as an ingenious researcher far beyond the professional circles and helped him earn a noble title in 1666.

Folge 19: Das Experimentieren mit dem Nichts

Otto von Guericke: Experimenta Nova (ut vocantur) Magdeburgica De Vacuo Spatio (Amsterdam 1672).

Erschienen im Dezember 2020

Das Lieblingsbuch von Roland Gröbli

In Fortsetzung unserer beliebten Reihe präsentiert Roland Gröbli, Generalsekretär der Georg Fischer AG und Präsident des Stiftungsvorstands der Stiftung Eisenbibliothek, seinen bisherigen Lieblingsfund in der Bibliothek: das Hauptwerk des langjährigen Magdeburger Bürgermeisters und experimentellen Forschers Otto von Guericke. Besonders begeistert ist er von einem Experiment, das Otto von Guericke 1654 auf dem Reichstag in Regensburg präsentiert hatte. Je acht Pferde konnten zwei Halbkugeln, nur durch ein Vakuum zusammengehalten, nicht voneinander trennen.

Der Leser

Roland Gröbli

...ist seit August 2000 Generalsekretär (Corporate Secretary) der Georg Fischer AG und seit 2013 Präsident des Stiftungsvorstands der Stiftung Eisenbibliothek. Er studierte Germanistik und Allgemeine Geschichte an der Universität Zürich und der Freien Universität Berlin und schloss seine Studien mit einem Doktorat über die Mystik des Schweizer Nationalheiligen Niklaus von Flüe ab. Vor seinem Eintritt bei GF arbeitete er unter anderem sieben Jahre in Kolumbien, darunter vier Jahre als Geschäftsführer der Schweizerisch Kolumbianischen Handelskammer.

Das Buch, in dem ich gerne mitspielen würde …

Gabriel García Márquez, Cien años de soledad

Dieses Buch ist in jeder Hinsicht ein Jahrhundertwerk. Der kolumbianische Journalist und Schriftsteller Gabriel García Márquez (1927-2014) (ver-)führt uns in diesem Werk in die Welt der realen Magie. 

 

Das Buch, von dem ich gerne eine Fortsetzung lesen würde …

Doris Kearns Goodwin, Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln

Nach Möglichkeit kaufe ich in jedem Land, in dem ich mich gerade aufhalte, ein Buch zur Geschichte. Diese Biografie der amerikanischen Historikerin Doris Kearns Goodwin (geboren 1943) über die Regierungszeit von Abraham Lincoln berücksichtigt auch die Perspektive seiner damaligen Konkurrenten um das Amt des Präsidenten der Vereinigten Staaten. Ein unglaublich gutes, erhellendes und spannendes Buch.

 

Die Bücher, die momentan auf meinem Nachttisch liegen …

Hans Blumberg, Die Lesbarkeit der Welt

Anneke B. Mulder-Bakker, Living Saints of the Thirteenth Century

Das Buch

Otto von Guericke: Experimenta Nova (ut vocantur) Magdeburgica De Vacuo Spatio (Amsterdam 1672).

Mein Verständnis für Technik und Ingenieurskunst hält sich definitiv in überschaubaren Grenzen. In dieser Reihe sei deshalb ein Buch hervorgehoben, das den Natur- ebenso wie den Geisteswissenschaftler begeistert. Der Magdeburger Bürgermeister Otto von Guericke (1602-1686) widmete einen Grossteil seines Lebens und seiner freien Zeit der Erforschung des Nichts (was Grösseres oder Tieferes gibt es in der Mystik denn das Nichts?), aber eben aus naturwissenschaftlichem Interesse.

Dem Nichts, beziehungsweise dem Vakuum, kam er auf vielfältige Weise, sehr viel Scharfsinn und mit Hilfe unzähliger Experimente auf die Spur. Er gehört zu den ersten deutschen Forschern der modernen Zeit.

Meine besondere Bewunderung findet Guericke für ein Experiment, das er 1654 auf dem kaiserlichen Reichstag in Regensburg demonstrierte. Er entzog einer metallenen Kugel, die aus zwei Hälfte zusammengesetzt war, mit einer Vakuumpumpe alle Luft aus dem Innern. Je acht Pferde zogen dann an den beiden Enden der Halbkugeln und konnten diese nicht voneinander trennen. Kaum füllte er die Kugel wieder mit Luft, liessen sich die beiden Halbkugeln problemlos trennen. Dieses öffentliche und auch pädagogisch sehr geschickte Experiment wurde zu seinem bekanntesten Triumph, der seinen Namen als ingeniöser Forscher weit über die Fachwelt hinaus ins ganze Land trug und 1666 mit zum Adelstitel verhalf.