Chapter 7: Technology of molding materials

Franz Hofmann: Technologie der Giessereiformstoffe. (Schaffhausen : Georg Fischer AG, 2. Auflage, 1966).

published February 2016

The favorite book of Linda Streckfuss

Linda Streckfuss spent a week in 2015 as Scholar in Residence at the Iron Library, where she researched for her bachelor's thesis in industrial engineering. Her thesis deals with the implementation of machine learning methods in the iron foundry of GF Automotive in Singen. What fascinates Linda about her favorite book is the complexity of manufacturing good greensand suitable for casting.

The reader

Linda Streckfuss

... trained as an industrial manager and then studied industrial engineering, after completing commercial vocational school. She has worked for Georg Fischer Ltd in Singen since October 2014, first as a student intern and from June to September 2015 she wrote her bachelor's thesis – both times in Materials Engineering. The thesis was also the reason why she was a scholar-in-residence at the Iron Library, where she was able to conduct in-depth literature searches. She was taken on as a permanent employee at the Georg Fischer plant in Singen in October 2015. She first worked in a project team for Quality Management & Logistics and in December 2015 moved back to Materials Engineering as an assistant.

I would love to play a role in this book:
Peter Ustinov: Der alte Mann und Mr. Smith

This book needs a sequel:
Bernard Cornwell: Der Heidenfürst (2014)

The book on my nightstand:
Bernard Cornwell: Das Zeichen des Sieges (2009)

The book

Franz Hofmann: Technologie der Giessereiformstoffe. (Schaffhausen : Georg Fischer AG, 2. Auflage, 1966).

I'm fascinated by the complexity of producing good green sand suitable for casting. For one thing, I'm interested in the properties of the raw materials and how they are changed during preparation and manufacturing; for another I'm intrigued by the impact on the quality of the castings, i.e. the likelihood of defects.

The "Technology of Molding Materials" gives the reader a solid overview of the complex world of green sands. Even though this material consists in the main of only four components – quartz or silica sand, bentonite, the coal dust and water – it's no simple matter to get the green sand just right. A number of factors are crucial in the process of preparation and manufacturing.

Sand circulation system in a foundry

The material changes in the course of mulling, molding, casting, cooling, shaking out and recycling. As a result of the entire process cycle and the thermal, mechanical and chemical stresses to which the green sand is subjected, the four basic components give rise to additional elements such as the coating of sintered bentonite on the individual quartz sand grains as well as the formation of clay and inert materials.

The properties of the sand components also impact on the behavior of the green sand. Take, for instance, quartz sand, which expands considerably at temperatures of between 300 and 575°C, thereby changing its density. This effect has to be compensated for by the other components and should be taken into account when producing the green sand.

Expansion behaviour of sands of different mineralogical composition, bound with 5% bentonite.

This little book deals in detail with the individual components of green sands and with the molding material as a whole as well as the changes it undergoes in the entire process. The book closes with a chapter on how sand expansion defects arise and how to deal with them.

I am especially fascinated by the mechanisms and modes of action of the green sand components and their interdependencies. The system's complexity is a challenge to conduct further investigations in order to constantly improve monitoring of the process and perfect our knowledge of how to control green sand production.

Folge 7: Technologie der Giessereiformstoffe

Franz Hofmann: Technologie der Giessereiformstoffe. (Schaffhausen : Georg Fischer AG, 2. Auflage, 1966).

Erschienen im Februar 2016

Das Lieblingsbuch von Linda Streckfuss

Linda Streckfuss hat 2015 als Scholar in Residence eine Woche lang in der Eisenbibliothek für ihre Bacherlorarbeit im Fach Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen recherchiert. In der Arbeit geht es um die Implementierung von Methoden des maschinellen Lernens in der Eisengiesserei von GF Casting Solutions in Singen. An ihrem Lieblingsbuch fasziniert Linda die Komplexität der Herstellung von guten, zum Giessen geeigneten Grünsanden.

Die Leserin

Linda Streckfuss

… hat nach dem kaufmännischen Berufskolleg zunächst eine Ausbildung zur Industriekauffrau gemacht und das Studium zur Wirtschaftsingenieurin angeschlossen. Seit Oktober 2014 ist sie bei GF in Singen: Zuerst als Praxissemesterstudentin und von Juni bis September 2015 als Bachelorantin – beides im Bereich Werkstofftechnik. Die Thesis war auch der Grund für den Aufenthalt in der Eisenbibliothek als Scholar in Residence, um dort eine fundierte Literaturrecherche durchführen zu können. Seit Oktober 2015 ist sie fest bei GF in Singen angestellt; zunächst arbeitete sie zwei Monate als Projektsachbearbeiterin für Qualitätsmanagement & Logistik und wechselte dann im Dezember 2015 wieder in die Werkstofftechnik als Assistentin.

Das Buch, in dem ich gerne mitspielen würde ...
Peter Ustinov: Der alte Mann und Mr. Smith 

Das Buch, von dem ich gerne eine Fortsetzung lesen würde ...
Bernard Cornwell: Der Heidenfürst (2014)

Das Buch, das momentan auf meinem Nachttisch liegt ...
Bernard Cornwell: Das Zeichen des Sieges (2009)

Das Buch

Franz Hofmann: Technologie der Giessereiformstoffe. (Schaffhausen : Georg Fischer AG, 2. Auflage, 1966).

Mich fasziniert die Komplexität der Herstellung von guten, zum Giessen geeigneten Grünsanden. Einerseits interessieren mich die Rohstoffeigenschaften und deren Veränderungen im Formstoffkreislauf und andererseits die Auswirkungen auf die Gussteilqualität, d.h. die Fehlerneigung.

Das Buch «Technologie der Formstoffe» gibt eine gute Übersicht über die komplexe Welt von Grünsanden. Obwohl der Formstoff nur aus hauptsächlich vier Komponenten besteht, nämlich aus Quarzsand, Bentonit, Kohlenstoffträger und Wasser, ist es keine Selbstverständlichkeit einen geeigneten Grünsand herzustellen. Im Formstoffkreislauf spielen eine Vielzahl von Faktoren eine bedeutende Rolle.

Sandkreislaufsystem in einer Giesserei

Der Formstoff verändert sich im Kreislauf vom Mischen über das Formen, Giessen, Abkühlen, Auspacken und Wiederaufbereiten. Es bilden sich zu den vier genannten Grundkomponenten durch den Umlaufprozess und die dabei entstehende thermische, mechanische und chemische Belastung weitere Formstoffbestandteile, z.B. die oolithische Hülle aus totgebranntem Bentonit um das einzelne Quarzkorn sowie Schlämmstoffe und Inert-Stoffe.

Des Weiteren beeinflussen die Eigenschaften der Formstoffbestandteile das Verhalten des Formstoffs. Ein Beispiel ist der Quarzsand, der sich bei Temperaturen zwischen etwa 300 und 575 °C stark ausdehnt und auch seine Dichte ändert. Dieser Effekt muss durch die anderen Formstoffkomponenten kompensiert und bei der Zusammensetzung des Formstoffs beachtet werden.

 

Ausdehnungsverhalten von Sanden verschiedener mineralogischer Zusammensetzung, gebunden mit 5% Bentonit.

Das kleine Buch geht sowohl auf die einzelnen Komponenten von Grünsanden als auch auf den Formstoff als Ganzes und dessen Veränderungsprozess im Formstoffkreislauf ein. Am Ende wird ausserdem die Entstehung und Behandlung von Sandausdehnungsfehlern beschrieben.

Mich faszinieren besonders die Mechanismen und Wirkungsweisen der Formstoffbestandteile und deren Interdependenzen. Die Komplexität dieses System ist eine Herausforderung weitere Untersuchungen durchzuführen, um ein immer besseres Controlling und v.a. auch Fachwissen in der Formstoffsteuerung zu erreichen.