Only a few meters from where bathers and water sport aficionados
enjoy the Rhine in fine weather stands Klostergut Paradies, with its
unique Iron Library. The core of this special library, set in the
idyllic surroundings a former convent, is literature on the history of
iron and steel. The industrial corporation Georg Fischer Ltd, or GF,
created a foundation for the library in 1948.
The Iron Library now has holdings of over 40,000 books and some 800 periodicals. GF had purchased the former Paradies convent in 1918. Founded by the Clarissan order in 1253, it was deconsecrated in 1836. The library was opened in the west wing of the former convent in 1952, to mark the 150th anniversary of the GF Corporation.
In accordance with the library's name, mining, production and processing of metals were the original focus of the library's collection. The Iron Library is one of the largest special libraries in this field. In the meantime, the focus has broadened to include the history of technology and related subjects such as industrial culture. As the GF Corporation develops, so the library expands into new areas such as plastic technology.
The Iron Library is a reference library open to the public, a reading room is available for visitors. All the library's holdings can be found and searched in an online catalogue. Guided tours can be arranged by prior appointment.