The Quebec Bridge

A monumental work on bridge-building in Quebec

The Quebec Bridge over the St. Lawrence river : near the City of Quebec, on the line of the Canadian National Railways ; 1908 - 1918 ; report of the Government Board of Engineers / Department of Railways and Canals Canada. [Ottawa, Ont.] : printed by order of the Governor-General in Council, [1919]. 2 volumes : illustrations, maps ; 31 x 39 cm

Near Quebec City, the St. Lawrence River is more than a kilometer wide and 60 meters deep. Building a bridge at this point is a very challenging task. The first bridge here collapsed spectacularly on 29 August 1907. After various setbacks, the second bridge was completed in 1918. The Quebec Bridge was documented in an extensive final report of the engineers, which the Iron Library has now acquired.

We reprint the following description of the book by courtesy of the antiquarian bookseller Jonathan A. Hill (New York City) , from whom the Iron Library acquired the volume.

The first bridge

Quebec Bridge

The Quebec Bridge, spanning the St. Lawrence about nine miles above Quebec, replaced an earlier structure designed by Thomas Cooper in 1900 to carry the railway over the river. On 29 August 1907 it collapsed without warning in a matter of only fifteen seconds, killing several men and making bridge history as the most spectacular structural failure to that time. A photograph of the ruins shows the entire bridge virtually unrecognizable as such, the structure compressed into a compact mass of steel spaghetti.

As a result of the investigation, the detailing of compression members in particular and bridge engineering in general were raised to a much higher level of scientific analysis and design.

The second bridge

Quebec Bridge

The second bridge, designed by Ralph Modjeski and completed in 1917, was its successor. A cantilever structure, it was based on the Forth Bridge, and it too had its problems. The 5000 ton center span collapsed into the river on 11 September 1916 as it was being hoisted vertically into position. One of the photographs in the book shows it at the precise moment when it struck the water. A new span was successfully lifted almost exactly a year later, the final pins being driven in on 20 September 1917. On 17 October the first train crossed the bridge; a regular freight service began on 3 December; and on 22 August 1919 the bridge was formally opened by the Prince of Wales. With a span of 1800 feet between the two main piers it was the largest of its kind in the world.

The book: «Report of the Government Board of Engineers»

Quebec Bridge

This is the final report of the Board of Engineers, headed by Ralph Modjeski, and it forms the definitive account of the bridge, with a survey of the historical background and the story of the earlier structure, followed by all the technical information of the new one. The text is amply supported by the working drawings and many excellent photographs of the earlier bridge, the two disasters, progress of construction, first train crossing, the official opening etc.

The Quebec Bridge

Ein Monumentalwerk zum Brückenbau in Quebec

The Quebec Bridge over the St. Lawrence river : near the City of Quebec, on the line of the Canadian National Railways ; 1908 - 1918 ; report of the Government Board of Engineers / Department of Railways and Canals Canada. [Ottawa, Ont.] : printed by order of the Governor-General in Council, [1919]. 2 volumes : illustrations, maps ; 31 x 39 cm

Im Bereich der Stadt Quebec weist der Sankt-Lorenz-Strom eine Breite von über einem Kilometer und eine Tiefe von 60 Metern auf. Dort eine Brücke zu errichten, ist eine denkbar anspruchsvolle Aufgabe. Die erste Brückenkonstruktion stürzte 1907 auf spektakuläre Weise ein. Die zweite Brücke konnte – nach Rückschlägen – 1918 erfolgreich fertiggestellt werden. Die Quebec Bridge wurde in einem umfassenden Abschlussbericht der Ingenieure dokumentiert, den die Eisenbibliothek neu erwerben konnte.

Die folgende Beschreibung des Buches drucken wir mit freundlicher Erlaubnis des Antiquars Jonathan A. Hill (New York City) ab, bei dem das Buch erworben wurde.

Die erste Brücke

Quebec Bridge

Die knapp 15 Kilometer (neun Meilen) oberhalb von Quebec über den St.-Lorenz-Strom führende Brücke steht an der Stelle einer im Jahr 1900 von Thomas Cooper konstruierten Eisenbahnbrücke. Dieses Bauwerk war am 29. August 1907 ohne Vorwarnung in nur fünfzehn Sekunden eingestürzt. Bei dem Unglück, das als das bis dahin spektakulärste Versagen einer Tragwerkskonstruktion in die Geschichte einging, kamen mehrere Menschen ums Leben. Ein Foto der eingestürzten Brücke zeigt, dass diese kaum noch als solche zu erkennen ist, sondern nur noch als eine kompakte Masse von Stahlträgern.

Nach der Untersuchung des Vorfalls wurde die Auslegung von Brückenkonstruktionen im Allgemeinen und insbesondere der Stützen zum Gegenstand wissenschaftlicher Analysen.

Die zweite Brücke

Quebec Bridge

Die zweite Brücke am gleichen Ort wurde von Ralph Modjeski konstruiert und 1917 fertiggestellt. Als Auslegerbrücke war sie wie die Forth Bridge konstruiert – und auch sie hatte ihre Probleme. Am 11. September 1916 stürzte die 4700 Tonnen (5000 US t) schwere Mittelsektion in den Strom, während sie in Position gehoben wurde. Eine der im Buch enthaltenen Fotografien zeigt das Brückenteil in dem Moment, in dem es auf der Wasseroberfläche aufschlägt. Knapp ein Jahr danach gelang es, eine neue Mittelsektion einzusetzen; die letzten Bolzen wurden am 20. September 1917 eingeschlagen. Am 17. Oktober passierte der erste Zug die Brücke, am 3. Dezember wurde der reguläre Güterverkehr aufgenommen und am 22. August 1919 fand die offizielle Eröffnung der Brücke durch den britischen Thronfolger statt. Mit einer Spannweite von 549 m (1800 ft) zwischen den beiden Hauptpfeilern war sie die weltweit grösste Brücke ihrer Art.

Das Buch: «Bericht des Government Board of Engineers»

Quebec Bridge

Dieser abschliessende Bericht des Board of Engineers, der unter dem Vorsitz von Ralph Modjeski entstand, gibt einen umfassenden Überblick über den historischen Hintergrund und die Geschichte der Vorgängerbrücke und geht auf die technischen Details der neuen Brücke ein. Der Text ist umfassend illustriert, sowohl durch Konstruktionszeichnungen als auch durch viele ausgezeichnete Fotografien. Diese dokumentieren unter anderem die frühere Brücke, die beiden Unglücke, die Bauarbeiten, die erste Eisenbahnfahrt über die Brücke und die offizielle Eröffnung.