The collection areas of the Iron Library – a thematic overview

The collections of the Iron Library – a thematic overview

The qualitative profile of the holdings

In keeping with the Library's name and its motto – Viris ferrum donantibus – the original collection focus was on literature about iron and steel, whether mining or production. In the course of time, the focus has expanded to include selected fields of the history of technology along with allied disciplines (history of the natural sciences, archeometallurgy, industrial and economic history, industrial heritage, etc.). Worldwide, there are not many specialist libraries in this field with holdings of comparable depth, breadth and completeness. In the wake of developments within the three divisions of Georg Fischer Ltd, new, additional collection interests are taking shape: In future, greater emphasis will be placed particularly on plastics and their history.

The core of the collections is a large number of old (bibliophile) books and prints and a much smaller number of manuscripts. These valuable historical holdings were acquired at the time the Library was established or shortly thereafter and are currently being added to by selective acquisition of antiquarian items. The basic principle applying to all collection interests is that the Library acquires both historical items and new (scholarly historical) research literature. There is no clear demarcation line between historical and current holdings since this will depend on the thrust of the research. Literature that is not historically oriented is acquired in some areas such as foundry technology, iron metallurgy and plastics technology. The holdings are arranged according to the Iron Library's own classification system. The current system (see link on the right side) and the article on the Iron Library in Handbuch der historischen Buchbestände in der Schweiz [Historical Book Holdings in Switzerland] (updated in 2009, see link on the right side) give the reader a good idea of the Iron Library's collection interests.


The quantitative profile of the holdings

All told, the Iron Library possesses between 40,000 and 45,000 media units; this total includes not only books, manuscripts and brochures (grey literature) but also a large number of offprints and journal volumes. The Library has approx. 700 journal titles, of which about 70 are current.

The historical holdings include approx. 5,700 volumes dated to before 1900. These include a single incunable (from 1482), about 330 printed items from the 16th century and five manuscripts that are to be dated to before 1600, including a manuscript on parchment from the last third of the 13th century. More detailed information on the chronological, linguistic and thematic composition of the historical holdings can be found in the Handbuch der historischen Buchbestände in der Schweiz [Historical Book Holdings in Switzerland] (see link on the right side).


Thematic focal points of the collections

Here on our website in the months ahead, we will be gradually filling you in on the thematic focal points of the collections. We kindly ask for your patience. What you can expect:

·         Metallurgy (work in progress)

·         Mining (work in progress)

·         Plastics

·         History of technology (work in progress)

·         History of the natural sciences (work in progress)

·         History of Georg Fischer Ltd (work in progress)

·         Economic and industrial history, industrial heritage (work in progress)

·         Product catalogs and company publications (work in progress)

·         Encyclopedias (work in progress)

Die Bestände der Eisenbibliothek – ein thematischer Überblick

Die Bestände der Eisenbibliothek – ein thematischer Überblick

Zum qualitativen Profil des Bestands

Dem Namen der Bibliothek – und ihrem Motto «Viris ferrum donantibus» – entsprechend ist die Literatur über die Gewinnung und Verarbeitung von Eisen und Stahl der ursprüngliche Sammelschwerpunkt. Im Laufe der Zeit hat sich der Fokus auf ausgewählte Teilgebiete der Technikgeschichte samt benachbarten Disziplinen (Geschichte der Naturwissenschaften, Archäometallurgie, Industrie- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte, Industriekultur etc.) erweitert. Es gibt weltweit nur wenige Spezialbibliotheken in diesem Bereich, deren Bestände eine vergleichbare Tiefe, Breite und Vollständigkeit erreichen. Neue und zusätzliche Sammelschwerpunkte kristallisieren sich auch infolge von Entwicklungen in den drei Divisionen der Georg Fischer AG heraus: So wird in Zukunft vor allem den Kunststoffen und ihrer Geschichte grössere Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt werden.

Das Herz der Sammlungen ist ein umfangreicher Bestand an Alten Drucken und ein sehr viel kleinerer Bestand an Handschriften. Diese wertvollen historischen Bestände wurden grösstenteils schon in der Entstehungszeit der Bibliothek oder kurz danach erworben, sie werden bis heute durch gezielte antiquarische Akquisitionen ergänzt. Grundsätzlich gilt für alle Sammelschwerpunkte, dass sowohl historische Drucke als auch neue (geschichtswissenschaftliche) Forschungsliteratur erworben wird. Eine fixe Grenze zwischen historischen und aktuellen Beständen lässt sich nicht ziehen, sie hängt vom Forschungsinteresse ab. In einigen Sammelgebieten wird auch nicht historisch orientierte Literatur erworben, so z.B. zur Giessereitechnik, Eisenmetallurgie und Kunststofftechnologie. Die Bestände sind nach einer hauseigenen Systematik aufgestellt. Einen guten Eindruck von den Sammelgebieten der Eisenbibliothek vermittelt die aktuelle Systematik (siehe Link auf der rechten Seite) sowie in der Artikel über die Eisenbibliothek im «Handbuch der historischen Buchbestände in der Schweiz» (mit Stand 2009, siehe Link auf der rechten Seite).


Zum quantitativen Profil des Bestands

Insgesamt umfasst der Bestand der Eisenbibliothek zwischen 40.000 und 45.000 Medieneinheiten, wobei in dieser Zahl sowohl Bücher, Handschriften und Broschüren (graue Literatur) als auch eine Vielzahl von Aufsätzen (Sonderdrucke) und Zeitschriftenbänden enthalten sind. Ca. 700 Zeitschriftentitel sind vorhanden, davon ca. 70 laufend.

In den historischen Beständen befinden sich ca. 5.700 Bände, die vor 1900 erschienen sind. Dazu zählen eine Inkunabel von 1482, ca. 330 Drucke aus dem 16. Jahrhundert sowie fünf Handschriften, die vor 1600 zu datieren sind, davon eine Pergamenthandschrift aus dem letzten Drittel des 13. Jahrhunderts. Genauere Angaben zur chronologischen, sprachlichen und thematischen Zusammensetzung der historischen Bestände macht das «Handbuch der historischen Buchbestände in der Schweiz» (siehe Link auf der rechten Seite).


Die thematischen Sammelschwerpunkte

In den kommenden Monaten werden wir Ihnen an dieser Stelle die thematischen Schwerpunkte des Bestands nach und nach detailliert vorstellen. Wir bitten noch um ein wenig Geduld.

Was Sie erwarten wird:

·         Metallurgie (noch in Arbeit)

·         Bergbau (noch in Arbeit)

·         Kunststoffe

·         Technikgeschichte (noch in Arbeit)

·         Geschichte der Naturwissenschaften (noch in Arbeit)

·         Geschichte der Georg Fischer AG (noch in Arbeit)

·         Wirtschafts- und Industriegeschichte, Industriekultur (noch in Arbeit)

·         Produktkataloge und Firmenschriften (noch in Arbeit)

·         Enzyklopädien (noch in Arbeit)