Robert Henriques

Robert Henriques: Natural Rubber and its Sources

Title page

"Kb1" – that's the Iron Library's call number for the slim volume "Der Kautschuk und seine Quellen" [Natural Rubber and its Sources] published in 1899 by the chemist Dr. Robert Henriques. The number "1" at the end of the call number indicates that we're at the start of something new, in this case the first book in the new subject division "Kb – Prehistory and Early History of Plastics (before 1900)", which is part of the Iron Library's new collection focus "Plastics".

Like metal materials, plastics not only have a history but they also have a prehistory and an early history. Dr. Robert Henriques' 1899 publication "Der Kautschuk und seine Quellen" belongs in this category. The Iron Library has succeeded in purchasing this unassuming but rare volume, which only a very few libraries possess, from an antiquarian bookseller.

The book is the printed version of two lectures that the chemist Robert Henriques had given in 1897 and 1899. In an obituary, it was recalled that in his 1899 lecture Henriques had "captivated his audience with vivid demonstrations of how natural rubber is harvested and [described] the economic prospects of the rubber plantations in new, exotic rubber regions." Natural rubber, which is harvested from the latex of rubber trees, has played an immensely important role since the end of the 19th century as a raw material for tire production. Henriques' book provides an overview of the production of natural rubber in South and Central America, Africa and Asia. The slim volume contains an appendix with "Tables of the most important commercial types of raw rubber" and "Maps with the places of origin and export ports of various types of rubber".

The author

Robert Henriques was born in Hamburg, Germany in 1857. He studied chemistry in Heidelberg, Berlin und Strasbourg, where he completed his Ph.D. in 1881. He then moved to industry and first worked as an assistant chemist in K. Oehler'sche Anilinfabrik in Offenbach, Germany; he later headed the scientific laboratories of Kunheim Chemische Fabriken in Berlin, where the famous Berlin blue dyestuff was manufactured. In 1890 Henriques set up on his own, founding a "commercial laboratory" in Berlin. His main interest as a chemist was in "studying fats, waxes and caoutchouc goods" and the "class of aromatic compounds". Robert Henriques died in Bayreuth in 1902 at the age of 44 "as the result of a brain disorder".

Biographical sources: Berichte der deutschen chemischen Gesellschaft 35, 1902, pp. 4528-4533; Poggendorff, vol. 4, 1904, p. 617

Robert Henriques

Robert Henriques: Der Kautschuk und seine Quellen

Titelblatt

«Kb 1» - so lautet in der Eisenbibliothek die Signatur, die das Büchlein «Der Kautschuk und seine Quellen» trägt, das der Chemiker Dr. Robert Henriques 1899 veröffentlicht hat. Die «1» am Ende der Signatur weist darauf hin, dass hier etwas Neues beginnt: In diesem Fall handelt es sich um das erste Buch in der neuen Abteilung «Kb – Vor- und Frühgeschichte der Kunststoffe (vor 1900)», die Teil des neuen Sammelschwerpunkts Kunststoffe ist.

Wie die metallischen Werkstoffe, so haben auch die Kunststoffe nicht nur ihre Geschichte, sondern sogar ihre «Vor- und Frühgeschichte»! In diese Kunststoff-Epoche gehört auch das Büchlein «Der Kautschuk und seine Quellen», das der Chemiker Dr. Robert Henriques 1899 veröffentlicht hat. Dieses unscheinbare, aber seltene Büchlein – es ist nur in äusserst wenigen Bibliotheken vorhanden – hat die Eisenbibliothek jetzt in einem Antiquariat erwerben können.

Es handelt sich um die schriftliche Fassung zweier Vorträge, die Robert Henriques 1897 resp. 1899 gehalten hatte. In einem Nachruf auf Henriques heisst es über den Vortrag von 1899, er habe «in höchst fesselnder Weise an der Hand anschaulicher Demonstrationen die Gewinnung des Kautschuks und die wirthschaftlichen Aussichten der Gummipflanzungen in neuen exotischen Kautschukgebieten» geschildert. Der aus dem Milchsaft des Kautschukbaums gewonnene Naturkautschuk spielte ab dem Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts als Rohstoff für die Reifenproduktion eine gewaltige Rolle. Henriques' Büchlein gibt einen Überblick über den Stand der Produktion von Naturkautschuk in Süd- und Mittelamerika, in Afrika und in Asien. Im Anhang finden sich «Tabellen über die wichtigsten Rohkautschuksorten des Handels» und «Karten mit den Herkunftsorten und den Ausfuhrhäfen der einzelnen Rohkautschuksorten».

Der Autor

Robert Henriques wurde 1857 in Hamburg geboren. Er studierte Chemie in Heidelberg, Berlin und Strassburg, wo er 1881 promoviert wurde. Er wechselte dann als «Fabrikschemiker» in die Industrie und arbeitete zunächst als Assistent im Labor der K. Oehler'schen Anilinfabrik in Offenbach; später leitete er das wissenschaftliche Labor der Chemischen Fabriken Kunheim in Berlin, die u.a. den berühmten Farbstoff Berliner Blau herstellten. 1890 machte sich Henriques mit einem eigenen «Handelslaboratorium» in Berlin selbständig. Sein Interesse als Chemiker galt der «Durchforschung der Fette, Wachse und Kautschukwaaren» sowie der «Klasse der aromatischen Verbindungen». Robert Henriques starb 1902 im Alter von nur 44 Jahren in Bayreuth «an den Folgen eines Gehirnleidens».

Quellen zur Biographie: Berichte der deutschen chemischen Gesellschaft 35, 1902, S. 4528-4533; Poggendorff, Bd. 4, 1904, S. 617