Klostergut Paradies

Klostergut Paradies

The History of the Paradise Estate

The history of the Iron Library is closely connected with the fate of the former Clarissan convent Klostergut Paradies. The convent, which was thoroughly renovated between 1948 and 1952, was made available by Georg Fischer AG to house this extraordinary book collection. Therefore, the convent's former guest wing, where the Library is situated, maintains the old tradition of hospitality for visitors.

The foundation stone for the convent, which was the first Clarissan order in Switzerland, was laid in 1253. The Paradies convent was ceded to the Canton of Thurgau in 1804. When it was decided to liquidate the convent's assets in 1836, the buildings and land were auctioned publicly. The land was converted into farmers' holdings, while the stalls, barns and workshops, along with the former convent buildings, were a ragbag. The property changed hands several times before the tale of woe ended in 1918, when Georg Fischer AG acquired the estate. The idea behind the acquisition was to provide food and shelter for the company's employees in war time.

Towards the end of the 1940s, a new purpose was sought for the historical estate. The convent buildings were restored by the architect Martin Risch on the occasion of the company's 150th anniversary. The extensive renovation work was completed in the anniversary year 1952, and the Iron Library was opened to the public. A further important step was taken in 1974 when Georg Fischer AG founded its training center on the estate. True to its tradition, the convent had found a new purpose.

Klostergut Paradies

Bachlauf Kloster

Klostergut Paradies - Gastlichkeit mit langer Tradition

Die Geschichte der Eisenbibliothek hängt eng mit dem Schicksal des ehemaligen Klarissenklosters Paradies zusammen. Als Domizil für die ausserordentliche Büchersammlung stellte die Georg Fischer AG das von 1948 bis 1952 grundlegend renovierte Klostergut Paradies zur Verfügung: Im früheren Gästehaus der Klarissen öffnet noch heute nach guter Tradition die Eisenbibliothek ihre Tore für Besucher.

1253 war der Grundstein für das Kloster Paradies gelegt worden, die erste Niederlassung der Klarissen in der Schweiz. 1804 wurde das Kloster Paradies an den Kanton Thurgau abgetreten. Die 1836 beschlossene Liquidation des Klostervermögens brachte die öffentliche Versteigerung der Gebäude samt Grundbesitz mit sich. Die Klosteranlage wurde in Bauerngüter umgewandelt. Stallungen, Scheunen und Werkstätten bildeten damals zusammen mit ehemaligen Klostergebäuden ein buntes Nebeneinander. Nach verschiedenen Besitzerwechseln fand die Leidensgeschichte des Klosters 1918 ihr Ende: In diesem Jahr erwarb die Georg Fischer AG das Anwesen. Die Betriebszugehörigen sollten mit Nahrung durch den Bauernbetrieb und Unterkunft versorgt werden.

Gegen Ende der 1940er Jahre suchte man dann nach einer neuen Zweckbestimmung für das historische Ensemble. Anlässlich des 150-jährigen Firmenjubiläums wurden die Klostergebäude durch Architekt Martin Risch restauriert. Im Jubiläumsjahr 1952 fand die aufwändige Restaurierung der Klosteranlage ihren Abschluss, und die Eisenbibliothek wurde der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Die Abrundung des Anwesens erfolgte 1974: Die Georg Fischer AG eröffnete hier ihr Ausbildungszentrum. Das Kloster wurde damit traditionsverbunden zu neuem Leben geführt.