42nd History of Technology Conference 2020

Raw Materials. Natural Resources in History

13-14 November 2020 in Schaffhausen/Schlatt, Switzerland

Call for Papers

Deadline: 31 January 2020

Donnez_vos_fers_et_métaux"Give us iron and metals!" - Scrap industry in the Second World War: Raw material procurement by Swiss school children, 1942

The 42nd History of Technology Conference will be held at the Klostergut Paradies in Schlatt near Schaffhausen, Switzerland on 13 and 14 November 2020. The Conference has served as an outstanding platform for the exchange of ideas between research, teaching and industry since 1978. The speakers and the invited guests come from universities, libraries, collections and museums or contribute their business and industrial experience. The conferences are renowned for the breadth and topicality of the papers presented.

This international and interdisciplinary event is organized by the Iron Library (Eisenbibliothek), Foundation of Georg Fischer Ltd. Responsibility for the content of the conference is in the hands of a scientific advisory board consisting of Dr. Gisela Hürlimann (ETH Zurich), Prof. Reinhold Reith (University of Salzburg) and Prof. Friedrich Steinle (TU Berlin).

We kindly invite interested persons involved in research, teaching and practice to apply to present a paper.

Conference topic in 2020: Raw Materials. Natural Resources in History

The extraction of materials from the natural environment is the first step in a wide range of technical and economic processes. From industrial corporations and construction companies, to financial services and medicine – virtually all aspects of economic and everyday life are involved in raw material cycles. Raw materials are dug out of the earth, blasted out of stone and pumped out of the seas; they are extracted from plants and culled from animals. These resources are then dissolved, prepared, chemically altered and recombined to be widely used and further transformed, or indeed wasted. Conflict over the use – and overuse – of natural resources has likely been entwined with human history since the earliest settlements. The 20th century has witnessed a dramatic rise in resource consumption, especially since the 1950s. The globalized economy's boundless hunger for natural resources and the recent debates on the "Anthropocene" have significantly increased scientific attention given to raw materials as the material basis of our society.

The conference aims to tie in with this agenda. It invites researchers to present papers on procedures of exploitation, refining and removal, on modes of prospecting and extraction, on trade, transport and processing, or also on the production of waste and emissions as well as on recycling of coal, gold, oil, copper, rare earths or other natural resources, in addition to plant- and animal-based starting materials. While approaching the subject from a history of technology angle, the conference also welcomes perspectives from corporate and global history, as well as archaeology, environmental and social history. Coal, for instance, was not simply a key resource for industrialization; its extraction altered landscapes, shaped societies and cultures, and has been in part responsible for increases in carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere. Palm oil, which has replaced other oils and fats in foods, soap or in energy and metal production, raises issues of colonial and agrarian entanglements, well beyond its role for a history of technology.

These examples illustrate the wide-ranging potential to historicize natural resources from antiquity to contemporary history. We also encourage contributions on non-European cases. The conference languages are both English and German.

Format

The papers may be read in English or in German. Conference documents including English abstracts of all papers will be prepared by the organizer. The papers should not exceed 20 minutes in length. Following the conference, papers will be published in the specialized journal Ferrum.

Synopsis

Applicants are kindly invited to submit a synopsis of their paper – no longer than 3'000 characters (400 words) – in English or German, along with an up-to-date resume, by 31 January 2020 to the Head of the Iron Library, lic. phil. Franziska Eggimann (franziska.eggimann@georgfischer.com).

Organizational matters

The Iron Library, Foundation of Georg Fischer Ltd, will assume speakers' travel expenses and the cost of room and board during the Conference. We expect that speakers will attend the entire Conference.

Timelines

We request you to submit your synopsis by 31 January 2020.

The selection of the speakers will be completed by the end of March 2020.

Contact person

Franziska Eggimann
Head Iron Library and Corporate Archivist Georg Fischer Ltd
franziska.eggimann@georgfischer.com

42. Technikgeschichtliche Tagung 2020

Unternehmen Rohstoff. Natürliche Ressourcen in der Geschichte

13./14. November 2020 in Schaffhausen/Schlatt, Schweiz

Call for Papers

Deadline: 31. Januar 2020

Donnez_vos_fers_et_métaux"Gib uns Eisen und Metalle!" - Schrottwirtschaft im Zweiten Weltkrieg: Rohstoffbeschaffung durch Schweizer Schulkinder, 1942

Am 13. und 14. November 2020 findet im Klostergut Paradies in Schlatt bei Schaffhausen (Schweiz) die 42. Technikgeschichtliche Tagung der Eisenbibliothek (TGT) statt. Sie bietet seit 1978 jährlich eine ausgezeichnete Plattform des Austauschs zwischen Forschung, Lehre und Industrie. Die Referentinnen und Referenten sowie die geladenen Gäste kommen aus Universitäten, Bibliotheken, Sammlungen und Museen oder bringen ihre wirtschaftliche und industrielle Praxis ein. Die Bandbreite der Referate und ihr Aktualitätsbezug zeichnen diese internationale und interdisziplinäre Veranstaltung besonders aus.

Die Veranstaltung wird von der Eisenbibliothek, Stiftung der Georg Fischer AG, organisiert. Für die inhaltliche Gestaltung der Tagung verantwortlich ist der wissenschaftliche Beirat, dem Dr. Gisela Hürlimann (ETH Zürich), Prof. Dr. Reinhold Reith (Universität Salzburg) und Prof. Dr. Friedrich Steinle (TU Berlin) angehören.

Wir laden Interessierte aus Forschung, Vermittlung und Lehre ein, sich als Referentinnen und Referenten zu bewerben.

Tagungsthema 2020: Unternehmen Rohstoff. Natürliche Ressourcen in der Geschichte

Am Anfang vieler technischer Verfahren und wirtschaftlicher Prozesse steht die Entnahme von Materialien aus der natürlichen Umwelt. Ob Industrieunternehmen, Bauwirtschaft, Finanzdienstleistungen oder Medizin – alle sind an Rohstoffkreisläufen beteiligt. Rohstoffe werden aus Erde, Gestein und Gewässern geschürft, gesprengt und gepumpt, aus Pflanzen gewonnen und Tieren entnommen. Sie werden aufgeschlossen, zubereitet und chemisch verändert, neu kombiniert und vielfältig genutzt (oder vergeudet) oder auch umgeformt. Diese Prozesse waren bereits im Mittelalter auch mit Übernutzung und Nutzungskonflikten verbunden. Das 20. Jahrhundert brachte, vor allem seit den Fünfzigerjahren, einen dramatischen Anstieg des Ressourcenverbrauchs. Der andauernde Rohstoffhunger der globalisierten Wertwirtschaft und die Debatten ums «Anthropozän» haben natürliche Rohstoffe als materielle Basis unserer Gesellschaften in den Fokus verschiedener Disziplinen gerückt.

Daran möchte die Tagung anknüpfen. Sie lädt Forscher/innen ein, ausgehend von Stoffen wie Kohle, Gold, Öl, Kupfer oder seltenen Erden, aber auch von pflanzlichen und tierischen Ausgangsstoffen, die Gewinnung, Veredelung und Verräumung, Prospektion und Abbau, Handel, Transport und Verarbeitung oder auch Abfall, Emission oder Recycling in den Blick zu nehmen. Der im Kern technikhistorische Zugriff lässt unternehmens- und globalgeschichtliche Perspektiven ebenso zu wie umwelt- und sozialgeschichtliche. Kohle etwa war nicht nur zentraler Rohstoff der Industrialisierung, sondern ihre Gewinnung veränderte Landschaften, brachte ganze Kulturen hervor und war verantwortlich für den Anstieg des atmosphärischen Kohlendioxidgehaltes. Und Palmöl, das in Lebensmitteln und Seife, in der Energie- und Metallproduktion andere Öle und Fette verdrängt hat, verweist über die Technikgeschichte hinaus auch auf kolonial- und agrargeschichtliche Verflechtungen.

Solche Beispiele illustrieren die vielfältigen historischen Perspektiven zum Thema Rohstoff, das auf der Tagung von der Antike bis in die Gegenwart behandelt werden kann. Ausdrücklich erwünscht sind auch Beiträge jenseits einer europäischen Perspektive. Vortragssprachen sind Englisch oder Deutsch.

Format

Die Vorträge können auf Englisch oder Deutsch gehalten werden. Tagungsunterlagen mit englischen Abstracts aller Referate werden von den Veranstaltern vorbereitet. Die Vorträge sollten 20 Minuten nicht überschreiten. Die Beiträge werden nach der Tagung in der von der Eisenbibliothek herausgegebenen Fachzeitschrift Ferrum publiziert.

Exposés

Interessierte Bewerberinnen und Bewerber sind herzlich eingeladen, ihr Exposé im Umfang von max. 3‘000 Zeichen (bzw. 400 Wörter) in Englisch oder Deutsch und einen aktuellen Lebenslauf bis zum 31. Januar 2020 in elektronischer Form an die Leiterin der Eisenbibliothek, lic. phil. Franziska Eggimann (franziska.eggimann@georgfischer.com), einzureichen.

Organisatorisches

Die Reisespesen der Referentinnen und Referenten sowie die Kosten für Unterkunft und Verpflegung während der Tagung werden von der Eisenbibliothek übernommen. Wir erwarten, dass die eingeladenen Referentinnen und Referenten an der gesamten Tagung teilnehmen.

Termine

Wir bitten Sie, Ihr Exposé bis zum 31. Januar 2020 einzureichen.

Die Auswahl der Referentinnen und Referenten erfolgt bis Ende März 2020.

Kontakt

Franziska Eggimann
Leiterin Eisenbibliothek und Konzernarchivarin Georg Fischer AG
franziska.eggimann@georgfischer.com